SHILLONG, April 13 - The English and Foreign Languages (EFL) University, Shillong Campus celebrated its Diamond Jubilee on April 9 and 10 last. Director in-charge of the Campus, Prof AK Mishra inaugurated the two-day event at the University Multi-Purpose Hall.
In 1958, the Central Institute of English (CIE) was born. Gradually the Institute extended the scope of its goals to improve the standard of teaching of English, to undertake relevant research and to introduce the study of foreign languages. It was therefore renamed the Central Institute of English and Foreign Languages (CIEFL) in 1972 with the addition of three major foreign languages � German, Russian and French.
Two new campuses were set up in Shillong (1973) and Lucknow (1979) to cater to the needs of language practitioners in the North East and North India. In 1973, CIEFL was awarded the status of a deemed universityand in 2006-2007, CIEFL became a Central university by an Act of Parliament and was renamed as The English and Foreign Languages University that is dedicated to the study of English and ten foreign languages (Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Korean, and Persian).
The two-day celebration included poetry writing, story writing, sketching and photography competitions among others. The celebration ended with a cultural event that showcased the diversity of cultures and traditions through folk songs, folk dances and traditional fashion show.