Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Dr Lakshyahira Das next ASS president

By Correspondent

NAGAON, July 23 � Noted poet and lyricist Dr Lakshyahira Das will be the next president of the Asomiya Sahitya Sanmilani. She will succeed Dr Hiren Gohain during the Sanmilani�s Tezpur session on January 11 next. This was informed in a press meet here by the Sanmilani secretary general MM Baruah.

While declaring her name for the session 2015-2017, Baruah informed that she was born on February 13 in 1933. A former head of the department of education in Gauhati University, Dr Das has authored a number of books, mainly poetry. Her poems have been translated into different regional languages of the country. Dr Das has also translated a number of books into Assamese. She has also written books for children.

Besides Baruah, Sanmilani vice president Dr Rezaul Karim, trustee Abhoy Baruah, member Dr K Bhuyan, Nagaon district working president Dr Risheswar Thengal Saikia, Sonitpur district working president Rohit Malakar and state executive member Dhananjoy Talukdar were present in the press meet.

Later a delegation of the Sanmilani, including its working president Dr Dilip Bora, vice president Dr Rezaul Karim, secretary general MM Baruah, and members of the Guwahati metropolitan unit greeted Dr Lakshyahira Das with a cheleng chador, a gamosa and a flower bouquet at her residence in Guwahati.

Dalangar Kavita: To mark the death anniversary of poet Navakanta Baruah, a function titled �Dalangar Kavita� was held on a bridge of river Kolong here, which is popularly known as the �Lovers bridge�, on July 14.

Attending the function, Sahityacharya Mahim Bora observed that poems are attached with the life of common people. Each and every aspect of life may be a subject of poem, he added. Bora also recalled his personal association with Navakanta Baruah, while reciting some poems of the noted poet.

Earlier, poet Dr Prayag Saikia welcomed the guests and the programme started with a mangalacharan presented by Pulakananda Koushik. A number of poets took part in the function which was conducted by writer-journalist Pranjal Bordoloi.

Next Story