Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Dhemaji to host children�s science meet tomorrow

By Correspondent

DHEMAJI, Sept 21 - With an aim to generate scientific thoughts among the schoolchildren and to inspire the students to develop scientific attitude in their minds, the Dhemaji District National Children�s Science Congress has been spreading awareness about science in day-to-day life in the district since 1994.

The Dhemaji District Children�s Science Congress is going to organise the silver jubilee congress of the organisation on September 23 at Gogamukh Higher Secondary School with a daylong programme.

In this connection, a reception committee has been constituted with Jiten Saikia, Principal of Gogamukh Higher Secondary School, as president, and Priya Dutta, headmaster of Bordalani Collegiate High School, as secretary.

On the occasion, the main flag will be hoisted by Dr Buddindra Boruah, president of Dhemaji District National Children�s Science Congress, while other 25 flags will be unfurled by 25 distinguished persons.

It will be followed by inaugural ceremony at 9 am. The ceremony will be chaired by Dr Buddhindra Boruah, and it will be inaugurated by Roshni Aparanji Korati, Deputy Commissioner of Dhemaji.

Other dignitaries who are expected to attend the function are Nilesh Sawakare, Dhemaji Superintendent of Police; and Paramananda Chayengia, Chief Executive Councillor of Mising Autonomous Council.

Sandhan, the souvenir of the silver jubilee celebration, will be released by Phatik Doley, Inspector of Schools, Dhemaji.

The project presentation session will be held at 10.30 am. A lecture on science and a felicitation ceremony will also be organised on the occasion. The ceremony will be conducted by Krishna Bordoloi, executive president of the Dhemaji District Children�s Science Congress.

The ceremony will be graced by Dr Arup Kumar Mishra, Director of Assam Science Technology and Environment Council; Dr Amiya Rajbonshi, retired vice-principal of North Lahhimpur College; Dhemaji MLA Dr Ranoj Pegu; Dr Ranjit Saikia, Principal of Silapather Science College; and Dr Jituranjan Chetia, Professor of Dibrugarh University as guests of honour.

At 12 am, an open quiz competition, an extempore speech competition as well as a speech competition on �Mor Saponar Dhemaji, Milijuli Garho Aha� will be held. It will be conducted by Kandarp Tamuli, former coordinator of Dhemaji District Children�s Science Congress.

More than 500 science projects and science models will be presented in the silver jubilee celebration of the Dhemaji District Children�s Science Congress.

Next Story