Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Delimitation panel all set to expedite work

By Kalyan Barooah

NEW DELHI, Aug 26 - After acquiring its new office at Ashoka Hotel here, the Delimitation Commission is all set to expedite redrawing of the constituencies of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, and Jammu and Kashmir by March 2021.

A representative of the panel told newsmen that the �outer limit� to complete the delimitation process was one year. Work has begun in full swing to ensure timely completion of the process, he said, adding, �every voice will be heard� before deciding on the delimitation of constituencies.

�The government has given us a timeline of one year starting from March 2020. So, the outer limit is one year. We are on course to do it within the given timeframe for all four northeastern states and the Union territory of J&K,� he said.

Meanwhile, in a significant development, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) is reconsidering using 2001 census figures for delimitation in the northeastern states, sources said.

�In case the MHA advises that the 2011 census figures be used instead of 2001 census figures for northeastern states, we might have some delay. The issue is with the MHA and should soon be resolved,� sources added.

On May 28, the Lok Sabha Speaker nominated 15 MPs from Jammu and Kashmir, Assam, Manipur, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh as �associate members� of the Delimitation Commission to assist the panel in redrawing parliamentary and assembly constituencies of the northeastern states and the Union territory. The 15 MPs include two Union ministers � Kiren Rijiju and Jitendra Singh.

Next Story