Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Delhi humiliate Assam

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 6 - Assam suffered a humiliating eight-wicket defeat against Delhi in their Group C Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Tournament.

At the Moti Bagh Stadium in Vadodara today, Assam, being asked to bat first, were bundled out for a paltry 44 runs in 12.1 overs and in reply Delhi scored 50 for the loss of two wickets in 9.1 overs.

Assam batsmen today miserably failed to counter Delhi medium pacer Subodh Bhati and spinner Shivam Sharma and surrendered meekly. Sib Sankar Roy (16) and Syed Mohammad (13) were the only batsmen to reach the double figure mark today. Unmukt Chand remained unbeaten with 29 runs for Delhi.

It was Assam�s second defeat as in the first match they were beaten by hosts Baroda. In the second match Assam defeated Goa.


Assam: KB Arun Karthik c Manan Sharma b Awana 0, Sarupam Purkayastha c Shivam Sharma b Sangwan 9, Sib Sankar Roy lbw b Shivam Sharma 16, Gokul Sharma c Milind Kumar b Sangwan 0, Amit Verma c Chand b Bhati 1, PP Das c Kaushik b Shivam Sharma 1, J Syed Mohammad b Shivam Sharma 13, Amit Sinha c Chand b Bhati 0, Abu Nechim Ahmed b Bhati 1, Mrinmoy Dutta c Negi b Bhati 0, Krishna Das not out 0. Extras: (lb 1, w 2) 3; Total: (all out; 12.1 overs) 44. Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-27, 3-28, 4-28, 5-30, 6-30, 7-30, 8-32, 9-32, 10-44. Bowling: P Awana 3-0-6-1, PJ Sangwan 3-0-21-2, Shivam Sharma 3.1-0-7-3, S Bhati 3-0-9-4.

Delhi: Unmukt Chand not out 29, Gautam Gambhir c Syed Mohammad b Dutta 10, PJ Sangwan lbw b Syed Mohammad 7, AD Kaushik not out 0. Extras: (w 4) 4; Total: (2 wickets; 9.1) 50. Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-44. Bowling: Krishna Das 2-0-11-0, Mrinmoy Dutta 2-0-17-1, Abu Nechim Ahmed 2-0-9-0, Amit Verma 2.1-0-10-0, J Syed Mohammad 1-0-3-1.

Next Story