Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Crucial ACA meeting today

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, June 11 - Pradip Buragohain of Naharkatia, present governing body member of the Assam Cricket Association (ACA) is all set to replace Bikash Baruah as the secretary of the new panel which will be set up tomorrow during the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Previously the names of Ajoy Sarma, Sanatan Das and Dr Brojen Gohain were emerging as possible candidates for the secretary�s post but after yesterday�s meeting among the members it became clear that Buragohain will become the new secretary without facing any contest.

It was also clear that Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will replace Gautam Roy as the president of the cash rich body. Several former cricketers like Rajesh Bora, Kamakhya Saikia among others are likely to contest for various posts like joint secretary, assistant secretary etc.

Abdul Khaleq of Jorhat and Manindra Saikia of Dibrugarh will contest for the treasurer�s post which has been retaining by Ghanashyam Baruah since 2002. So, it has appeared that a new batch of office bearers will take the hot seats of the State cricket body after 2002.

The AGM, as per the Gauhati High Court�s notification will commence from 10 am at the Barsapara cricket stadium here.

Next Story