Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CPM floors opposition in Tripura council polls

By Prabir Sil

AGARTALA, Feb 28 - As anticipated, the ruling CPM in Tripura has registered yet another emphatic victory by winning 520 Village Committees (VCs) of the total 687 VCs.

All the opposition parties � IPFT, INPT, Congress and BJP have failed to make any impact in the Village Committee elections of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC).

While IPFT has bagged 25 VCs, INPT has won 20 VCs and Congress, which is passing through serious crisis in the Left-ruled State has been able to win only nine VCs, according to a release by the State Election Commission after completing the counting process on Sunday.

The CPM has been able to retain absolute dominance in the State�s hilly areas as it has got 2,905 seats of the total 3,695 seats of 587 Village Committees.

IPFT, a tribal-based political party, has managed to win only 339 seats while another tribal-based political party � INPT has won only 199 seats. The VC election results show the CPM has a strong organisational base in the tribal belt where presence of opposition is very thin.

The CPM State Secretariat has congratulated the voters for making it victorious in the Village Committee elections. In a press release, the party Secretariat said that the massive mandate has increased the responsibility of the CPM-led Left Front.

�This is the mandate for peace and prosperity and the CPM will continue to do its best for the welfare of the people living in the Village Committee areas�, it said.

It said there was a mutual understanding among the anti-Left parties in the VC elections. �But the people have rejected the opportunist anti-Left alliance. The VC election mandate has also rejected the slogan for a separate State�, it said.

In the press release, the party Secretariat also urged the people to remain calm in the wake of some sporadic incident at Dasda and Damcherra in Kanchanpur subdivision.

Next Story