Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Cong changes candidate for Mizoram RS polls

By Correspondent

AIZAWL, June 6 - Changing its earlier decision, the Mizoram Pradesh Congress Committee today nominated assistant professor of Mizoram University and party spokesperson Lallianchhunga as its candidate for the lone Rajya Sabha seat of the State instead of former minister PC Zoram Sangliana.

On Friday, the Congress had named Sangliana as its nominee.

The main Opposition party, Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM), will field its general secretary, B Lalchhanzova, for the poll.

The ZPM and Congress have seven and five MLAs respectively in the 40-member Mizoram Assembly.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), which has 27 MLAs, on Thursday nominated former president of the party�s youth wing, K Kanlalvena, as its candidate for the election. Kanlalvena (50) was also the president of Mizo Zirlai Pawl, the State�s apex students� body, before joining the MNF.

He had unsuccessfully contested the by-election to the Aizawl North-III Assembly seat against Congress stalwart Lal Thanzara in November 2015.

The Rajya Sabha election in Mizoram will be held along with 23 seats in nine States, including one seat each in Manipur, Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh.

Next Story