Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Cong-AIUDF to contest with common policy


GUWAHATI, March 17 - The Congress-AIUDF alliance will contest the April 4 elections to the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) with a common minimum programme (CMP).

The alliance will field its candidates in 20 of the 40 constituencies of BTC. The Congress will contest from 13 seats and the AIUDF will field its candidates in seven constituencies.

Addressing a joint press conference here today, senior leaders of both the parties said the next government in the BTC will be formed only with the support or participation of the Congress and the AIUDF.

�We have prepared a CMP which will be made public after two days. The Congress-AIUDF alliance believes in peace and equal rights for all communities residing in the BTR,� said Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) general secretary and former State minister Durga Das Boro.

�It will be difficult for any party to form the next government in BTC without the support of the Congress and the AIUDF... I can say with confidence that we will win a handsome percentage of seats... Post election, we will be willing to extend support to any party, barring the BJP, which concurs with our views and agenda regarding the BTC,� he said.

Boro said many people have become apprehensive regarding their future following the signing of the recent accord regarding the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

�If we (Congress and AIUDF) are able to become constituent of the next government in BTC then our first priority will be to ensure the rights of all communities," he added.

AIUDF general secretary Aminul Islam accused the State government and the BJP of attempting to create division among various communities residing in the BTC. �Now, there is also an attempt to create division even among the Bodo community... The Congress and the AIUDF hope to help in achievement of permanent peace in Bodoland as well as in ending divisive politics and conflict among communities,� he said.

The AIUDF also announced its first list of candidates for the BTC elections containing six names. The Congress has already announced all its 13 candidates on Sunday.

Next Story