Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CLP urges all MLAs to vote for Meira Kumar

By The Assam Tribune

AIZAWL, July 15 - Mizoram�s Congress Legislature Party (CLP) urged all the legislators in the State to vote for Meira Kumar in the presidential election, a press statement issued by CLP secretary H Rohluna said.

It said that the meeting of the CLP, chaired by its leader Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla was held in Aizawl.

The ruling Congress has 34 legislators in the 40-member state legislature while the Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) has five MLAs and its junior partner the Mizoram People�s Conference (MPC) has one legislator. MNF legislators would vote for the NDA candidate Ram Nath Govind, MNF MLA Lalruatkima said.

The MNF is a constituent of the North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), which supports the NDA Government at the Centre.

The lone MPC legislator Lalthanliana was not available for comment as he was out of station and the party leaders said that the matter was yet to be decided. � PTI

Next Story