Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Campaigning ends, BJP confident of victory

By The Assam Tribune


DIPHU, March 29: On the last day before formal close of the poll campaigning, Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong witnessed frenzied poll campaigning by star campaigners. Both BJP and Congress made a last minute effort to lure voters leveling accusations and counter allegations.

Hagrama Mahelary former chief of BTC addressed a fairly large gathering at Phuloni in eastern part of Karbi Anglong today while Himanta Biswa Sarma, heavyweight leader of BJP attended a mammoth rally at Bakulia just thirty five kilometers away.

Earlier Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi on Saturday while addressing a poll rally at Bakaliaghat School playground described the BJP-led Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council as the ‘council of syndicate’. Gogoi said BJP gives with one hand and takes it away with the other, like they are doing with the free LPG which the government is now selling at a higher price.

Chief Executive Member of Karbi Anglong Ronghang Tuliram Ronghang immediately gave a jagged reaction to the allegation of Gogoi; while negating his claim, terming it as bizarre and odd he said that all his allegations are far from truth. He also mentioned that Gogoi has no right to comment on the council or raise questions on the corruption issue of Karbi Anglong.

For the Baithalangso seat the lone assembly seat of West Karbi Anglong eight candidates are on the fray, however a straight contest is visible between Rupsong teron of BJP and Augustine Enghi of Congress. Beside this regional party Autonomous State Demand Committee nominee Sarsing Enghee, Pratima Enghipi of CPI(ML), Sima Engtipi of JD(U), Welcome Teron of NPP, Bikram Hansey and Rina Beypi both independent are contesting for the seat.

This seat where a large section of both tribal and non tribal voters are fragmented on the party line may result in disintegration of tribal votes, being a reserved seat no party could field any non tribal candidate. From various field surveys and interaction with the voters it appears that BJP is miles ahead then other parties, having a strong support base among both tribal and non tribal communities. Baithalangso has a total vote of 209753; male share is 106759 while female carve up 102994 votes.

Dr. Numol Momin seating BJP MLA of Bokajan constituency is confident of retaining his position this time, with massive support from tribal community and other non tribal society, here a large chunk of voters belong to Tea Tribe community, Hindi speaking, Assamese, Bengali speaking and other assorted community. This constituency has 73722 female voters against 76207 male voters.

Both Howraghat and Diphu constituencies are witnessing straight contests between Congress and BJP, and in the last election BJP defeated congress with a comfortable margin when Congress was in power. With its party in office and party derivation spread up to the grassroots BJP is expecting a cakewalk in both the places. However the sitting MLA of Diphu Sum Ronghang who is contesting from Congress this time is expected to put-up a tough fight for the Diphu constituency where he is a known face of every household.

Diphu has a total voter power of 197553 and split-up, male 100104 and female 99579. Here the non-tribal votes fairly override tribal votes in a number of pocket areas, however both the parties are banking on the prospect of vote division together for victory and its enormity of margin.

Next Story