Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Bravery award winners draw applause

By The Assam Tribune

NEW DELHI, Jan 26 (PTI): National Bravery Award winning boys and girls today drew applause from the audience at the Republic Day parade here for having saved lives in grave situations.

As 23 out of the 25 award winners were driven in a jeep at the parade, the spectators clapped and cheered them for their courageous feats. Prime Minister Narendra Modi had presented the awards to the proud winners on Sunday.

From a 16-year-old who fought off a tiger, to a 13-year-old who lost his life while trying to save his friend from drowning, the three girls and 22 boys showed incredible bravery in the face of some very dangerous situations.

Two of them have been decorated with the award posthumously.

Last week, the winners were also felicitated by President Pranab Mukherjee, Union Minister Maneka Gandhi, Lieutenant Governor of Delhi Najeeb Jung and Army Chief General Dalbir Singh Suhag.

'Bharat Award', the highest of the National Bravery Awards, has been posthumously awarded to Gaurav Kawduji Sahastrabuddhe from Maharashtra who sacrificed his life in an attempt to save four of his friends.

Shivansh Singh, who died while undertaking a valiant effort to save his friend from drowning in Saryu river was also awarded posthumously.

The prestigious Geeta Chopra award has been given to 8-year-old Shivampet Ruchitha of Telangana who displayed exemplary valour in saving two lives when a train hit her school bus.

16-year-old Arjun Singh was honoured with Sanjay Chopra Award for displaying outstanding bravery in fighting a tiger to save his mother.

Ramdinthara (15) of Mizoram, who saved two persons from electrocution, was awarded with Bapu Gaidhani Award, along with Rakeshbhai Shanabhai Patel (13) of Gujarat and Aromal SM (12) from Kerala.

While Rakeshbhai saved a boy who accidentally fell into a deep well, Aromal rescued two women from drowning.

Other recipients of the bravery awards include Kashish Dhanani (Gujarat), Maurice Yengkhom and Chongtham Kuber Meitei from Manipur, Angelica Tynsong (Meghalaya), Sai Krishna Akhil Kilambi (Telanagna), Joena Chakbraborty and Sarwanand Saha (Chhatisgarh) and Dishant Mehndiratta (Haryana).

Beedhovan, Nithin Philip Mathew, Abhijit KV, Anandu Dillep, Muhammad Shamnad (all from Kerala), Mohit Mahdenrda Dalvi, Nilesh Revaram Bhil, Vaibhav Ramesh Ghangare (all from Maharashtra), Abinash Mishra (Odisha) and Bhimsen from Uttar Pradesh were also given the award.

The National Bravery Award Scheme was initiated by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service.

Next Story