Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BPF to contest in 4 Sonitpur LACs

By Correspondent

TEZPUR, Sept 6 � �BTC is part of Assam. We want development of Assam like BTC. So we have decided to come out from BTC in the greater interest of Assam,� said Prabin Boro, senior leader of BPF in a press meet here on Saturday.

We want development and harmony among the people of Assam. So the BPF will contest in 25 Assembly constituencies outside BTC in Assam, he added.

The BPF will contest four Assembly constituencies in Sonitpur district.

The constituencies are Dhekiajuli, Borchala, Sootia and Gohpur. An ad hoc district committee has been formed for this purpose along with the Assembly committees.

The BPF will hold a public rally in the district very soon which will be addressed by the BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary and other leaders of the BPF, he added.

He added there would not be pre election alliance with any political parties. The BPF has decided to go for post election alliance in the greater interest of Assam.

The constituencies in which BPF will contest in the district are under Cong (I) except Sootea which is under AGP. The ally of Cong (I) in the present government the BPF has come out against their ally.

The three constituencies namely Dhekiajuli, Borchala and Gohpur where sitting MLAs are from Cong (I) will have to face tough time in the coming days as in these constituencies the Boro voters are a deciding factor in these LACs.

Along with Prabin Boro, Trajen Mushahary and 5 EMs of BTC were present in the press meet.

Next Story