Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP�s flag flies high in Nagaon district

By Correspondent

NAGAON, Feb 13 � The BJPs flag flew high in all the local bodies of Nagaon district except Daboka. Daboka is the only town committee of the district which was conquered by INC. The INC won 5 seats while the BJP and AIUDF won two seats each and an Independent won only one seat.

The BJP registered its first victory in the Nagaon Municipal Board. The BJP won 14 seats, INC 10 and independent 1. Out of 19 wards in the Hojai Municipal Board, BJP won 12, INC 3, AIUDF 1 and independents 3.

BJP-led local bodies will be formed in Dhing, Lumding, Raha and in Lanka.

BJP won 4 seats, INC 2, AGP 3 and Independent 1 in the Dhing town committee. In Lumding, BJP got 7, INC 3 and AIUDF 2 seats.

In Raha TC, BJP won 4 seats out of 7. The INC 2 and AGP 1. In Lanka town committee BJP won 6 seats, INC and others won 2 seats each. One seat went to the AGP.

Fate of the 5-member Kampur town committee depends on the lone AGP member as the BJP and INC won two seats each.

Nagaon is the home district of former Chief Minister PK Mahanta, AIUDF chief Badaruddin Ajmal, minister Rockybul Hussain, MLA Pijush Hazarika and former minister Girindra Kumar Borooah but the AGP and AIUDF failed to form any local bodies in the district.

The result of local bodies in Nagaon district may hamper the fate of Dr Durlav Chamuah and Pijush Hazarika who were expecting a berth in the next expansion of the Gogoi Ministry. It is also alleged by some insiders that inter-party clash in INC also affected the results, mainly in Nagaon Municipal Board.

Though there is allegation against Nagaon BJP MP Rajen Gohain for not maintaining justice while distributing party tickets, yet the results proved that he was on the right track. BJP activists took out a number of victory rallies after declaration of the result.

Next Story