Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP retains Rangapara seat

By Correspondent

TEZPUR, Oct 24 - BJP has retained the Rangapara seat as its candidate Rajen Barthakur defeated Congress candidate Kartik Kurmi by a margin of 49599 votes. Bathakur polled 78301 votes, while Kurmi got 28702.

Other candidates, including Royal Soreng of Communist Party of India (Marxist) got 5901 votes, Arup Kumar Chowdhury of Bharatiya Gana Parishad polled 2,020 votes, while Sanjit Rajbangshi of Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) got 997 votes. Interestingly, 2,136 votes were polled in favour of NOTA.

�The BJP has taken a slew of developmental schemes in the constituency for which the people have voted in favour of BJP, and I can assure that more schemes will be taken up in the days to come,� Barthakur claimed immediately after the results.

On the other hand, the Congress candidate Kurmi accepted the defeat by saying that there was a pro-BJP wave, coupled with hard work rendered by the BJP workers.

Next Story