Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP national executive selects CM, says Dass


GUWAHATI, Aug 18 - The final decision regarding selection of chief ministers belonging to the party is taken by the BJP national executive and that tradition will be upheld if the party is re-elected to power in the 2021 Assam Assembly polls, said State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass.

He made the comment while addressing the media during an induction programme at the State BJP�s head office here today.

In reply to a question as to whether any discussion has started about who will be the chief minister of Assam if the BJP manages to retain power in the State, Dass said, �Our national committee will decide. We will abide by whatever decision is taken by our national committee.�

There have been speculations in sections of the media regarding alleged differences of opinion within the BJP on the issue of chief ministership after the 2021 Assembly polls.

During today�s event, actress Asha Bordoloi, former sportsperson and former AASU sports secretary Tapan Das, and educationist Prabha Chowdhury Dastidar joined the saffron party.

In addition, singer-musician Vidya Sagar, who has been a member of the BJP since 2009 but had taken part in the anti-CAA agitation last year without resigning from the outfit, was granted �active� membership of the ruling party.

This came a day after popular actor Jatin Bora rejoined the BJP, a few months after quitting the party over the CAA issue.

Dass said that beginning from today the State BJP will hold induction programmes daily. He added that a number of citizens from all walks of life have expressed keenness to join the ruling party.

Next Story