Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP hoping to win at least 12 seats in NE

By Correspondent

IMPHAL, March 27 � The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will win not less than a dozen seats in the eight North Eastern States which have 25 Parliamentary seats, according BJP Manipur Pradesh president Thounaojam Chaoba Singh.

�We�re expecting around 7 seats from Assam alone, besides two each from Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur, etc�, claimed former Union Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Chaoba.

�Like the prediction for natural calamities, experts are predicting that BJP will easily get 230 plus (out of 543) seats this election. But we�re targeting 270 plus� the Congress is a sinking ship,� he said.

Chaoba was speaking to media-persons on Thursday while releasing the party�s 29-point election manifesto, exclusively for the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency where BJP�s Prof Gangmumei Kamei is in the fray with nine other candidates.

The Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency goes to polls on April 9, while voting for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency will be held on April 17.

Meanwhile, the BJP Manipur unit�s exclusive election manifesto promises to have proper demarcation of the Indo-Myanmar boundary line on the basis of the position which existed at the time of merger in 1949 by erecting missing border pillars, protection of the territorial integrity of Manipur, withdrawal of Armed Forces Special Powers Act, super-specialty medical facilities, including air ambulance, potable water to each village and family by 2020, improvement of power supply within 3 years, etc.

Earlier, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC-I) president Gaikhangam had claimed that the Congress will win not less than 20 seats in the NE States, including Sikkim, in the ensuing Lok Sabha polls by capturing all seats except Nagaland, Tripura besides 2 to 3 seats in Assam.

Of the 25 seats in the region, 14 are in Assam, two each in Tripura, Meghalaya, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh and one each in Mizoram, Nagaland and Sikkim.

During the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, Congress secured 13 seats, including 7 in Assam, 2 each from Arunachal and Manipur while one each from Mizoram and Meghalaya.

Next Story