Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP got more votes than Cong in 7 segments


GUWAHATI, May 19 � Not only did the BJP register an impressive win in the Guwahati Lok Sabha seat in the recent general elections, the saffron party also polled more votes than the Congress in seven out of the 10 Assembly segments under the constituency.

BJP, which currently does not hold any of the seats in the Legislative Assembly from the segments under the Guwahati Lok Sabha seat, won in the segments of Dudhnoi, Palashbari, Jalukbari, Dispur, Guwahati East, Guwahati West and Hajo, while the Congress was able to maintain a lead in only the three segments of Boko, Chaigaon and Barkhetri, as per break-up of the data.

In Dudhnoi, BJP�s Bijoya Chakravarty led with 70,020 votes as against 40,288 votes secured by Congress� Manash Borah. AIUDF�s Gopi Nath Das secured 17,875 votes in the segment.

In Palashbari, Chakravarty got 65,260 votes compared to 22,104 by Borah. In Hajo, the BJP candidate won 49,026 votes as against 41,895 by her nearest Congress party rival.

Interestingly, Chakravarty swept all the four segments in the Kamrup Metro district.

In Dispur, currently represented by Borah�s father and State Minister Akon Bora, the BJP candidate secured 1,62,234 votes while her Congress rival won only 62,353 votes.

In Guwahati East, Chakravarty got 1,16,434 votes as against 28,540 votes that Borah got, while in Guwahati West the BJP leader got 1,29,806 votes as compared to 37,234 votes received by her Congress rival.

In Jalukbari also, the BJP juggernaut swept aside the fortress of State Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma by securing 70,069 votes as against 61,567 of the Congress party candidate.

However, in Boko segment, Congress� Borah took the lead and secured 57,770 votes compared to 39,011 votes by Chakravarty. AIUDF�s Das, who is also the local MLA, came second in the segment winning 44,265 votes.

In Chaigaon also, Borah led with 49,087 votes and Chakravarty trailed with 24,314. Das was a close third with 22,779 votes while AGP�s Birendra Prasad Baishya got 21,466, which was the highest number he managed in any of the segments.

In Barkhetri, the Congress led with 48,333 votes followed by BJP with 38,730 votes.

There were 81 postal ballots in favour of Chakravarty and 21 in favour of Borah.

Another interesting point is that Trinamool Congress� Biju Phukan, who only got 8,162 votes in the elections, could manage to win only 1,405 votes in Hajo, the segment, which is represented in the Assembly by his party�s State president Dwipen Pathak.

There were also 6,720 NOTA votes in the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency.

Next Story