Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP announces 4th list of candidates for Assam polls

By The Assam Tribune

GUWAHATI, March 15 (PTI) - The BJP today declared its fourth list of candidates for the two-phase Assembly elections in Assam.

The party is contesting all 126 constituencies in the state.

Among the seven contestants are Binita Brahma from Kokrajhar East, Hemanga Thakuria from Palasbari, Atul Sharma from Dharampur, Diganta Ghatowar from Biswanath and Banti Bania from Lakhimpur.

The candidates for Kalaigaon and Sootea, announced earlier, were changed to Mridul Deka and Rakesh Sharma, respectively, BJP spokesman Vijay Kumar Gupta said.

Announcing the list on behalf of BJP All India general secretary Anant Kumar, Gupta said that the list of candidates for the remaining five constituencies of Dhing, South Salmara, Samaguri, Majuli amd Chapaguri would be announced later.

Talks were on with alliance partner JD(U) for leaving some constituencies to it, but the names were not yet finalised, he said.

Next Story