Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Biswanath district inaugurated

By Correspondent

BISWANATH CHARIALI, March 1 - �The Tarun Gogoi-led Congress Government has given importance on good governance and the newly created districts and subdivisions are result of this,� this was said by Manika Borah, Parliamentary Secretary, Department of Transport, while inaugurating the functioning of the newly- declared Biswanath district at a function held at Kachari Maidan, here on Monday.

She added that the people from Dekorai to Howajan would be benefitted from the new district. Delivering the welcome address in the meeting which was presided over by SP Nandi, Commissioner of North Assam, Sonitpur DC Loya Maduri expressed hope that the new district would be able to make all round development in the State.

The newly-appointed DC of Biswanath, Pallav Gopal Jha, thanked the State Government for this endeavour and sought everyone�s help in running the administration smoothly. Biswanath MLA Prabin Hazarika, former minister Noorjamal Sarker and Biswanath Municipality Chairperson Ruli Sharma highlighted the people�s demand for the new district since 1983.

The programme was conducted by Sanjay Dutta, ADC and SDO (C) in-charge, Gohpur subdivision. Biswanath SP Manavendra Devroy, DFO Subhashish Das, Biswanath Revenue Circle Officer Sanjiv Dalai, former Biswanath Municipality chairman Dilip Kumar Baruah, veteran social workers Jiten Bhagawati, Kabiraj Sharma, Kamal Ch Bhuyan, Dr Amal Saikia, Rajen Goswami, Bhaben Acharya, AASU central assistant secretary Duldul Borkataki, among others, were also present in the programme.

Next Story