Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Biennial meet of Dhemaji Press Club ends

By Correspondent

DHEMAJI, Feb 26 - The 8th biennial conference of the Dhemaji Press Club was held recently on the Press Club premises with a day-long programme. The conference began with a cleanliness drive in the morning. Thereafter, the flag on the occasion was hoisted by Dilip Kumar Hazarika, president, Dhemaji Press Club which was followed by smriti tarpan initiated by Atul Kumar Chamuah, secretary of the scribes� body.

A discourse on the topic �The role of the local correspondents in social development� was held at 11 am, which was conducted by Purna Kumar Chinte, president, Dhemaji District Journalists� Association. Several senior journalists, including Royal Pegu, secretary, Dhemaji District Journalists� Association, Umesh Khandelia, Ashwani Dowarah and Jiban Konwar took part in the discourse. In his brief presidential speech, PK Chinte called upon the mediapersons to be bold, sincere and impartial in collecting and publishing news for the greater interest of the public.

The delegates� session of the conference was held at 1 pm with Dilip Kumar Hazarika in the chair. It was inaugurated by Mandira Chayengiya, District Information & Public Relation Officer, Dhemaji. Addressing the journalists, Chayengia highlighted the great responsibilities of the journalists and asked them to show the right way to the society through balanced reporting. In the delegates� session, the body of the Dhemaji Press Club was reconstituted with senior journalist Ashwani Kumar Dowarah as president, Premananda Talukdar as secretary, Nitu Borgohain as working president, Dibya Dutta as vice- president, Bijan Sarma as assistant secretary, Jitu Saikia as treasurer and Dipen Bhitaruwal Konwar and Pradyumna Bharali as literature secretary and office secretary respectively. Monbikash Borgohain, Bhaskar Sabhapandit, Paban Boruah, Biswajit Phukan and Sanjeeb Konwar were included as executive members. The assembly also nominated Atul Kumar Chamuah as co-opted member and outgoing president Dilip Kumar Hazarika and Umesh Khandelia as advisers of the press club.

Next Story