Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Best central varsity award for TU

By Shambhu Boro

TEZPUR, Feb 27 - Tezpur University has been awarded the prestigious �Best Central University Award�, by the Union Human Resource Development Ministry.

Dr Rajib Kumar Doley, Director, Inclusive Development, Tezpur University in a telephonic conversation told this correspondent here that as stated by the HRD Ministry, Tezpur University from among the frontline central universities in India, has been able to achieve the honour, reflecting the dignity of Tezpur as well as the sacrifices of the martyrs of the six-year-long Assam Agitation, as a fruition of which it came into being.

�Though the award will be formally presented on March 14 by President Pranab Mukherjee, the news has delighted us�, Dr Doley reiterated. In this context, it is to be mentioned here that the central university, an outcome of the Assam Accord, was established by an Act of Parliament in 1994 and inaugurated by the then Prime Minister of India, PV Narasimha Rao.

Initially, the university functioned from the premises of the Darrang College in Tezpur. For a while, it also functioned from the Tezpur Law College premises. Later, land for its permanent campus was acquired at Napaam, about 10 km east of Tezpur town. The land, 242 acres (0.98 sq km) in area, was an ancestral estate of 2500 bighas belonging to cultural icon Kalaguru Bishnu Prasad Rabha received from the British rulers, and had been donated to peasants. The university recently acquired an additional plot of land.

Tezpur University is the first university in India to offer the Master of Technology in Computational Seismology course, and is also one of the few universities in India to have its own Department of Energy. The Department of Electronics is the first of its kind in India to introduce an interdisciplinary Master of Technology programme in Bioelectronics, the first class of which graduated in June 2006. The university has four schools of studies, divided into 21 departments and three special academic centres, including the School of Sciences, School of Humanities & Social Sciences, School of Management Sciences, School of Engineering and School of Science. The School of Sciences is divided into five departments, which give postgraduate degrees in Science and carry on research in science and mathematics.

The Department of Chemical Sciences was started in 1997, with a postgraduate course in Polymer Science. From July 2006, the department started offering a postgraduate course in Applied Chemistry with specialization in Catalysis, Medicinal Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry. Currently, the department is offering five-year integrated MSc course in Chemistry, four year integrated BSc (major in chemistry), BEd, Masters in Chemistry and MTech in Polymer Science and Technology. It offers doctoral programmes in Organic Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Bio-inorganic Chemistry, Surfactants, Water treatment, Polymer Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, Crystallography, Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis and Nano-particles.

The central university, facilitated with modern world class hostel facilities for both men and women, is providing education to students from across the country.

Next Story