Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam to face Team Rajasthan from today

By Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI, Oct 12 - Assam will square off against Team Rajasthan in their Group B Ranji Trophy match at Vizag, Andhra Pradesh from tomorrow.

After suffering a humiliating one innings and 83-run defeat against Delhi at Vadodara, Assam will try to gain momentum in their second encounter of the season. Last year Assam enjoyed a thumping one innings and 152 run victory against the same opponent at the Assam Cricket Association�s Barsapara stadium here.

In their match against Delhi, Assam players miserably failed to hit form with J Syed Mohammad (82 in the second innings) and Tarjinder Singh (61 in the first innings) being the only notable contributors for the home side. On the bowling front, pacer Abu Nechim Ahmed bagged 5 wickets conceding 106 runs.

The lacklustre show of the players in the first match is certainly a matter of concern for the think tank of the Assam team. If the team continues their dismal show, last season�s runners-up Assam will have to face a tough time in the coming matches.

Assam against Team Rajasthan in Ranji Trophy

1st match: Pre-quarterfinal played from February 12 to 16, 1995 at the Maharana Bhupal College Ground, Udaipur. Brief scores: Rajasthan 1st innings 445 (AJ Parmar 119; Gautam Dutta 3/63). 2nd innings 411/5 declared (PK Krishnakumar 208). Assam 1st innings 89 (PK Krishnakumar 5/23). 2nd innings 263 (Gautam Dutta 73). Rajasthan won by 504 runs.

2nd match: Played from December 17 to 20, 2003 at the Nehru Stadium, Guwahati. Brief scores: Rajasthan 1st innings 288 (APK Sharma 92, Gagan Khoda 48; Parag Das 3/39). 2nd innings 115 (R Raghuram 5/25, D Vasu 3/31). Assam 1st innings 306 (R Satish 108, Parag Das 50; extras 61). 2nd innings 102/3 (S Saravanan 52, Kiron Power 36 ). Assam won by 7 wkts.

3rd match: Played from December 25 to 28, 2005 at Field Club Ground, Udaipur. Brief scores: Assam 1st innings 240 (J Arunkumar 123). 2nd innings 110. Rajasthan 1st innings 281 (Arlen Konwar 6/87, A Katti 4/84). 2nd innings 73/1. Rajasthan won by 9 wkts.

4th Match: Played from November 3 to 6, 2009, at the NFRSA Stadium, Maligaon. Brief scores: Rajasthan 1st innings 228 (G Khoda 106; A Konwar 4/46, S Bahutule 4/66). 2nd innings 256 (V Saxena 103; AN Ahmed 5/57, A Konwar 4/72). Assam 1st innings 189 (P Aziz 53; Pankaj Singh 4/44, V Yadav 4/28). 2nd innings 200 (P Aziz 45; Pankaj Singh 7/64). Rajasthan won by 95 runs.

5th Match: Played from October 8 to 11, 2015 at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati. Brief scores: Team Rajasthan 1st innings 186 (Vineet Saxena 42; Krishna Das 5/32, Arup Das 2/26, Syed Mohammad 2/57). Assam 1st innings 422/9 declared (KB Arun Karthick 151, Kunal Saikia 50, S Purkayastha 47, Gokul Sharma 46; AB Singh 5/119, Nathu Singh 2/74). Team Rajasthan 2nd innings 84 (Krishna Das 5/23, Arup Das 5/39). Assam won by an innings and 152 runs.

Compiled by : Tapash Roy, BCCI scorer- statistician.

Next Story