Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam Sports and Cultural Festival awards

By Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 10 - The Assam Sports and Cultural Festival organizing committee has announced its awards under various categories for the year 2015. The award event has been organized for the past 19 years.

This year�s lifetime achievement awards will be given to Shashi Phukan in the field of journalism, Dr Dayananda Pathak in the field of education, Dr Zakir Hussain in the medical field, Gitali Barua in the field of literature and Shambhu Gupta in the cultural sphere.

On the other hand, in the category �best of the year�, the best journalist award will be given to Sanjeev Kumar Phukan of Asomiya Pratidin, best sports reporter award will be given to Jayanta Das of DY365, while footballer Holicharan Narzary will receive the best sportsperson award whereas the best trainer award will be given to Bikash Bordoloi. Hemanta Kumar Kalita will receive the best sports organizer award, while the best cultural organizer award will be given to Ramen Das.

In the mobile theatre category, Brindaban Theatre has been adjudged as the best theatre group, while Abhijeet Bhattacharya will get the best playwright award for the play Ramleela. Mridul Bhuyan and Chandana Sarma have been named as the best actor and the best actress respectively.

Akashor Nilakhini has been adjudged as the best VCD, while Shiromani, an album of devotional songs, has also been selected for a special award, said a press statement.

This apart, some persons contributing towards the social and cultural worlds have been selected for the jury�s special award. They are Rama Kumar Das, Pramod Kataki, Tarani Das, Bani Kalita, Asma Begum and Anurupa Deka Raja.

Next Story