Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam on verge of victory against Andhra

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 31 � After taking a commendable 175-run first innings lead, Assam removed Andhra Pradesh�s six second innings wickets for 116 and the visitors still need 59 runs to make the hosts bat again.

On the penultimate day of the four-day Ranji Trophy Group C match at the Barsapara stadium here today, Assam, resuming at yesterday�s 199 for six, were all out for 312 after 145 overs of batting.

The overnight unbeaten batsmen J Syed Mohammad and Sarupam Purkayastha started with a bright note and they added 134 runs for the seventh wicket which proved to be the most vital for Assam. The bowling hero of the season Sarupam showed his class in batting today and remained unbeaten with 108. His 248-ball knock was studded with 13 boundaries and three sixes.

Syed Mohammad also scored his fourth half century in this season. Unbeaten on 49 yesterday, Syed scored 66 off 210 deliveries with 11 fours.

The Andhra Pradesh team came out for the second innings batting after the lunch break and soon fell in trouble. They lost the top half with 99 on the board, that include the skipper and former Team India player Mohammad Kaif (11).

Sarupam again became the bowling hero after his tremendous batting form. He took three wickets this afternoon including that of Kaif.

Syed Mohammad and Arup Das were the other successful bowlers with two and one wicket respectively. AG Pradeep (32) and KS Bharat (26) were Andhra�s leading scorers in their second innings.


Andhra 1st innings: 137

Assam 1st innings: (Overnight 199 for 6) Pallav P Das c Bharat b Naren Reddy 21, KB Arun Karthik b Stephen 49, Sib Sankar Roy c Kaif b Vijaykumar 14, Gokul Sharma c Bharat b Stephen 11, Dheeraj Jadhav run out 2, Tarjinder Singh b Suresh 18, J Syed Mohammad c Prasanth b Naren Reddy 66, Sarupam Purkayastha not out 108, Abu Nechim Ahmed c Bharat b Naren Reddy 8, Arup Das c Kaif b Naren Reddy 0, Krishna Das c Pradeep b Suresh 1. Extras: (b 5, lb 4, nb 5) 14; Total: (all out; 145 overs) 312. Fall of wickets: 1-32, 2-67, 3-97, 4-99, 5-100, 6-138, 7-272, 8-282, 9-284, 10-312. Bowling: DP Vijaykumar 28-10-58-1, D Siva Kumar 23-12-33-0, CV Stephen 26-8-58-2, D Naren Reddy 22-5-62-4, M Suresh 45-19-82-2, RK Bhui 1-0-10-0.

Andhra 2nd innings: DB Prasanth c Arun Karthik b Purkayastha 18, KS Bharat c Tarjinder Singh b Arup Das 26, MUB Sriram c PP Das b Purkayastha 2, M Kaif st Arun Karthik b Purkayastha 11, AG Pradeep c Tarjinder Singh b Syed Mohammad 32, RK Bhui c Tarjinder Singh b Syed Mohammad 3, M Suresh not out 6, D Naren Reddy not out 2. Extras: (b 10, lb 6) 16; Total: (6 wickets; 49 overs) 116. Fall of wickets: 1-48, 2-50, 3-50, 4-96, 5-99, 6-104. Bowling: Arup Das 11-3-24-1, Krishna Das 7-2-17-0, J Syed Mohammad 9-5-8-2, Abu Nechim Ahmed 6-3-7-0, Sarupam Purkayastha 14-4-40-3, Sib Sankar Roy 1-1-0-0, Tarjinder Singh 1-0-4-0.

Next Story