Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam in driver�s seat vs Andhra

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Jan 30 � Assam took a vital 62-run first innings lead with four wickets in hand against Andhra Pradesh in their Group C Ranji Trophy match.

In reply to Andhra�s first innings total of 137, the hosts were 199 for six at stumps on the second day of the four-day match at the Barsapara stadium here today. J Syed Mohammad and Sarupam Purkayastha were at the crease with 49 and 30 respectively.

Assam resumed at the overnight total of 32 for one and batted vary cautiously throughout the day. Arun Karthik, who was unbeaten on 11 yesterday, offered a useful knock of 49 off 149 deliveries. He hit eight boundaries in his 216-minute knock. But a middle order collapse put Assam in trouble as they lost five wickets for 100. Sib Sankar Roy (14), Gokul Sharma (11) and skipper Dheeraj Jadhav (2) departed in quick succession. However, a 38-run partnership between J Syed Mohammad and Tarjinder Singh (18) for the sixth wicket enabled Assam in crossing the opponent�s first innings total.

Finally, Syed Mohammad and Sarupam managed to put up a brilliant show and yielded a 61-run unbroken seventh wicket partnership. Syed today faced 124 balls and hit nine fours while Sarupam countered 74 deliveries. He cracked five boundaries.

It was a little difficult to bat today as the medium pacers and spinners were able to draw adequate support from the wicket. Medium pacer Cheepurapalli Stephen was the most successful bowler today with two victims while DP Vijaykumar, M Suresh took one wicket each.


Andhra 1st innings: 137

Assam 1st innings: (overnight 32 for 1) Pallav P Das c Bharat b Naren Reddy 21, KB Arun Karthik b Stephen 49, Sib Sankar Roy c Kaif b Vijaykumar 14, Gokul Sharma c Bharat b Stephen 11, Dheeraj Jadhav run out 2, Tarjinder Singh b Suresh 18, J Syed Mohammad not out 49, Sarupam Purkayastha not out 30. Extras (lb 2, nb 3) 5; Total (6 wickets; 96 overs) 199. Fall of wickets 1-32, 2-67, 3-97, 4-99, 5-100, 6-138. Bowling: DP Vijaykumar 22-7-49-1, D Siva Kumar 18-7-33-0, CV Stephen 24-8-52-2, D Naren Reddy 6-2-24-1, M Suresh 26-12-39-1.

Next Story