Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam go down by 96 runs against Mumbai

By The Assam Tribune

GUWAHATI, Dec 13 - Assam went down to a much fancied Mumbai side by 96 runs to suffer their third consecutive defeat on the trot in their Group A Vijay Hazare Trophy match at the RRC Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Electing to bat, Mumbai managed a total of 198 runs before being all out in 49.5 overs. The side was struggling at one stage with the scoreboard reading 93 for six in 25.1 overs but the tailenders did well enough to ensure a decent total. Shreyas Iyer top scored for his side with 49 runs off 65 deliveries which featured four hits to the fence and one over the ropes while Surya Kumar Yadav contributed 42 valuable runs off 58 balls including four boundaries. Sagar V Trivedi walking into the middle as the last batsman, chipped in with 24 runs off 19 deliveries. Amit Verma, Syed Mohammed and Pritam Das scalped two wickets each while Pallav Das and Arup Das picked up a wicket each for Assam.

In reply, Assam were bundled out for 102 in 35 overs. It was yet again a poor batting display which led the side down with seven of their batsmen failing to even reach double figures. Amit Verma scored 33 off 48 deliveries including four boundaries while Syed Mohammed contributed 25 off 48 balls. Sibsankar Roy and Gokul Sharma with 13 runs each were the only other batsmen to reach the double figure mark. Dhawal Kulkarni was the pick of the Mumbai bowlers with four wickets to his kitty for 19 runs in his quota of 10 overs while Abhishek Nayar and Sagar V Trivedi picked up three wickets each. Assam is yet to open their account while Mumbai have four points.


Mumbai: Akhil Herwadkar run out KB Arun Karthick 23, JG Bista c Wasiqur Rahman b Arup Das 7, Shreyas Iyer c Amit Verma b Pallav Kumar Das 49, AP Tare c & b Pritam Das 7, SD Lad run out Sibsankar Roy 0, Abhishek Nayar st Wasiqur Rahman b Amit Verma 3, Surya Kumar Yadav b Syed Mohammed 42, Iqbal Abdullah c Wasiqur Rahman b Pritam Das 14, Dhawal Kulkarni not out 21, Shardul c KB Arun Karthick b Syed Mohammed 3, Sagar V Trivedi c KB Arun Karthick b Amit Verma 24. Extras: (nb 0, w 3, b 1, lb 1, pen 0) 5. Total: (All out; 49.5 overs) 198. Fall of wickets: 1-22, 2-60, 3-84, 4-84, 5-93, 6-93, 7-118, 8-164, 9-172, 10-198. Bowler: Krishna Das 7-0-28-0, Arup Das 9-0-45-1, Pritam Das 10-0-46-2, Pallav Kumar Das 10-2-30-1, Amit Verma 7.5-0-23-2, Syed Mohammed 6-0-24-2.

Assam: Pallav Kumar Das c Abhishek Nayar b Dhawal Kulkarni 2, Sibsankar Roy c AP Tare b Dhawal Kulkarni 13, Gokul Sharma lbw Sagar V Trivedi 13, Amit Verma c AP Tare b Abhishek Nayar 33, KB Arun Karthick c AP Tare b Abhishek Nayar 8, Syed Mohammed c AP Tare b Sagar V Trivedi 25, Amit Sinha c AP Tare b Abhishek Nayar 0, Wasiqur Rahman lbw Dhawal Kulkarni 0, Pritam Das b Dhawal Kulkarni 3, Arup Das not out 0, Krishna Das lbw Sagar V Trivedi 2. Extras: (nb 0, w 2, b 0, lb 1, pen 0) 3. Total: (All out; 35 overs) 102. Fall of wickets: 1-4, 2-25, 3-49, 4-66, 5-75, 6-75, 7-76, 8-83, 9-100, 10-102. Bowler: Dhawal Kulkarni 10-1-19-4, Shardul 8-1-16-0, Sagar V Trivedi 6-0-29-3, Abhishek Nayar 10-1-37-3, Iqbal Abdullah 1-1-0-0.

Next Story