Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam beat Punjab in Vijay Hazare Trophy

By The Assam Tribune

NEW DELHI, Feb 26 - Assam got the better of Punjab by three wickets in their Group-A match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium here today.

Electing to bat, Punjab posted a total of 243 runs before being bundled out in 49.4 overs. Shubman Gill top scored for his side with a fine knock of 121 runs off 129 deliveries while Gurkeerat Mann chipped in with a steady 58 runs off 102 balls. Pritam Das and Arup Das scalped three wickets each while Abu Nechim Ahmed picked up two wickets.

In reply, Assam batsmen put up 247 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 48.4 overs. Amit Verma top scored with 65 runs off 91 balls while skipper KB Arun Karthick was the other notable contributor with 63 runs off 65 deliveries. Opener Pallav Das scored 48 runs off 49 balls. Sandeep Sharma was the pick of the Punjab bowlers with three wickets for 52 runs in his 9.4 overs while captain Harbhajan Singh bagged two wickets going for 42 runs in his allotted 10 overs.


Punjab: Manan Vohra lbw Arup Das 1, Mandeep Singh lbw Arup Das 4, Shubman Gill c Wasiqur Rahman b Pritam Das 121, Yuvraj Singh b Arup Das 0, Gurkeerat Mann c Syed Mohammed b Pritam Das 58, Abhishek Sharma c Wasiqur Rahman b Abu Nechim Ahmed 17, Harbhajan Singh c KB Arun Karthick b Abu Nechim Ahmed 20, Manpreet Singh Grewal c KB Arun Karthick b Pritam Das 7, Gitansh Khera run out Pallav Kumar Das 0, Siddharth Kaul st Wasiqur Rahman b Syed Mohammed 3, Sandeep Sharma not out 5. Extras: (nb 1, w 3, b 0, lb 3, pen 0) 7. Total: (All out; 49.4 overs) 243. Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-12, 3-19, 4-160, 5-187, 6-220, 7-233, 8-234, 9-234, 10-243. Bowling: Pritam Das 10-0-59-3, Arup Das 10-1-27-3, Abu Nechim Ahmed 10-0-62-2, Pallav Kumar Das 2-0-15-0, Syed Mohammed 7.4-0-42-1, Amit Verma 10-0-35-0.

Assam: Pallav Kumar Das c Gitansh Khera b Harbhajan Singh 48, Sibsankar Roy c Gitansh Khera b Siddharth Kaul 12, Gokul Sharma lbw Harbhajan Singh 16, KB Arun Karthick c Gurkeerat Mann b Sandeep Sharma 63, Amit Verma c Harbhajan Singh b Sandeep Sharma 65, Amit Sinha c Yuvraj Singh b Manpreet Singh Grewal 8, Syed Mohammed b Sandeep Sharma 16, Wasiqur Rahman not out 8, Abu Nechim Ahmed not out 4. Extras: (nb 0, w 5, b 0, lb 2, pen 0) 7. Total: (7 wickets; 48.4 overs) 247. Fall of wickets: 1-46, 2-75, 3-90, 4-184, 5-201, 6-225. Bowling: Sandeep Sharma 9.4-0-52-3, Manpreet Singh Grewal 10-1-49-1, Siddharth Kaul 9-1-53-1, Harbhajan Singh 10-0-42-2, Abhishek Sharma 5-0-25-0, Yuvraj Singh 5-0-24-0.

Next Story