Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Asom Kabi Samaj silver jubilee function held

By Correspondent

DHEMAJI, Feb 21 � The concluding session of the silver jubilee celebration of the Asom Kabi Samaj was held at the Sarbeswar Jalbhari Phukan Kshetra on the Machkhowa Degree College premises in Dhemaji district recently with a two-day programme.

The session began with the plantation of saplings in the morning, initiated by retired teacher Bhuban Dutta. Later, the Kabi Samaj flag was hoisted by Ramen Kalita, president, Asom Kabi Samaj. It was followed by the smriti tarpan programme, initiated by Manoranjan Nath, vice president of the poets� body.

Afterwards, an earthen lamp was lit by Professor Dulal Borah, executive president of the reception committee. A poets� meet was also held which was conducted by poet and dramatist Rafiqul Hussain. It was inaugurated by poet Moinul Islam Mandal, who is also the Dhemaji SP.

About 150 young and seasoned poets from different parts of the State participated in the meet in which they read out their self-composed poems. They included Rudra Singha Mottak, Joychandra Hazarika, Khageswar Pegu, Chandana Das, Ambika Saikia, Dr Basanta Mangal Dutta, Jyotish Kumar Deb, Manoranjan Nath, Jiban Konwar, Harendra Sarmah, Rabin Konch and Palash Paran.

The poems were analysed by Professor Sankar Patowary and poet Rajib Tamuli. Dalimi Gohain, principal, Machkhowa Degree College, retired teacher Ambeswar Dutta Phukan and several other dignitaries were present in the meet as distinguished guests.

In the afternoon, an award-giving and felicitation ceremony was held under the presidentship of Ramen Kalita. It was inaugurated by Dr Chitraranjan Das, secretary, Asom Kabi Samaj.

In the meeting, 11 celebrated poets were given different awards for their contributions to poetry.

Mira Talukdar was presented with the Nirmal Prabha Bordoloi Memorial Award, Nibedita Bora Handique with the Nalinibala Devi Memorial Award, Rudra Singha Mottak with the Ambikagiri Raichoudhury Award, Hemchandra Dutta with the Hiren Bhattacharya Memorial Award, while Kamal Kumar Jain received the Satyanarayan Phugla Memorial Award.

Sixteen other poets, including Manoranjan Nath, Puspa Chutia, Usha Buragohain, Ambika Saikia, Chuchen Bhitarual Konwar, Bipul Sharma, Naba Kalita and others, were felicitated in the ceremony.

The second day�s programme started with an interaction among poets from different places. A book release function was later held under the presidentship of Ramen Kalita. Inaugurating the function, retired professor Dr Puspa Gogoi expressed his content over the creation of a good environment for composing poems at Dhemaji and called upon the new generation poets to depict the lives of the common people rather than composing love poems only.

In the ceremony, a total of 32 books were released. Some of those were Meghali Mon, composed by Usha Buragohain, Bhinnakal by Jogesh Bikash Handique, Unmilan by Dr Basanta Mangal Dutta, Bahudinor Murat Log Palu Apunak by Joychandra Hazarika, and Surujmukhy Swapna by Jintumoni Chamua. Siva Prasad Gogoi, retired principal, Dhakuakhana College, journalist Anupam Chakraborty, poet Bhuban Das and others released the books. The vote of thanks was given by the secretary of the poets� organisation, Dr Chitraranjan Das.

Next Story