Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

ASJA media T20 gets under way

By Sports reporter

GUWAHATI, Feb 28 - Media Management Eleven and Electronic Media won their respective matches on the inaugural day of the 3rd Star Cement ASJA Media T20 Cricket Tournament at the Judges� Field here today.

In the first match of the day, Media Management XI got the better of Assam Photo Journalists Association by 57 runs. Electing to bat, Media Management XI put up a total of 155 runs for the loss of four wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Jagjit Singh top scored with an unbeaten 73 runs while Pranjal Phukan contributed 22 runs. Vicky Baruah scalped one wicket going for 34 runs in his alloted four overs.

In reply, Photo Journalists were all out for 98 runs in 18 overs. Vishma Thapa top scored with 22 runs while Gauranga Gogoi contributed 15 runs. For Media Management XI, Anupam and Abhisekh picked up three wickets each.

In another match, Electronic Media defeated Guwahati Media XI by five wickets. Electing to bat, Guwahati Media XI could only manage 69 runs in 14.2 overs with Nabajyoti Ghosh top scoring with 16 runs. Binay Kalita returned with figures of four for 12 runs in 3.4 overs while Subhash Basfor and Robin Das bagged two wickets each.

In reply, Electronic Media were 72 runs for the loss of five wickets in 9.5 overs. Pranab Das top scored with 25 runs while Binay Kalita remained unbeaten on 19. For Guwahati Media XI, Abuddin Khan took two wickets for 21 runs in his four overs while Ajoy Sarkar and Lakhyajit Gogoi scalped one wicket each.

Brief Scores: Media Management 155 for 4 in 20 overs (Jagjit Singh 73 n.o, Pranjal Phukan 22, Dimpul Chutia 16; Vicky Baruah 1/34). Photo Journalists 98 all out (Vishma Thapa 22, Gauranga Gogoi 16; Anupam 3/20, Abhisekh 3/25, Pranjal 1/12, Amar 1/18).

Guwahat Media XI 69 all out (Nabajyoti Ghosh 16; Binay Kalita 4/12, Subhash Basfore 2/6, Robin Das 2/8). Electronic Media XI 72 for 5 ( Pranab Das 25, Binay Kalita 19 n.o; Abuddin Khan 2/21, Ajoy Sarkar 1/17, Lakhyajit Gogoi 1/19).

Next Story