Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Arunachal scribes� panel to check facts

By Correspondent

ITANAGAR, June 6 - The Arunachal Pradesh Union of Working Journalists (APUWJ) today constituted a six-member Fact-Checking Committee (FCC) in a bid to curb dissemination of fake news and misinformation.

The FCC, to be headed by Arunachal Press Club (APC) president and editor-in-chief of The Dawnlit Post Dodum Yangfo, is entrusted with verifying information reported by media houses associated with the press bodies � APC, APUWJ and AEDMA (Arunachal Electronic and Digital Media Association).

The committee has been empowered to conduct suo motu fact-checking on any news or article that may have potentially misleading content, which has been telecast and published by the associated media members, within a stipulated timeframe, stated a press note.

Yangfo hoped the formation of the FCC would definitely help in building a renewed sense of responsibility among media outlets in stemming unverified news and foster credibility.

Stressing the importance of the formation of the FCC, APUWJ president Amar Sangno said, �The role of APUWJ is not only to organise the working journalists of the State into a united force and strive for freedom of the press but also to ensure that the highest standards of professional conduct and integrity are maintained.�

Sangno further said, �Currently we are inundated by fake news, misinformation and disinformation on the social media and by many of our own media outlets registered with us.�

He added that to ensure unbiased dissemination of information, the APUWJ has constituted the six-member committee within the union.

APUWJ general secretary Ranju Dodum pointed out that fact-checking within media houses would help curb misinformation or unverified news content, besides generating awareness on responsible journalism.

The other members of the FCC are the associate editor of Independent Review and national executive committee member of the Indian Journalists Union from Arunachal Pradesh, Taya Bagang, associate editor of The Arunachal Pioneer and auditor of APUWJ Damien Lepcha, DY365 correspondent and former president of AEDMA Mukul Pathak, APUWJ Gender Council convener and proof-reader with The Arunachal Times Nellie Manpoong and Echo of Arunachal sub-editor and APUWJ treasurer Appu Gapak.

Next Story