Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Arunachal Assembly goes paperless

By Correspondent

ITANAGAR, March 2 - The nine-day Budget session of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly began today with Speaker Pasang Dorjee Sona introducing the e-Vidhan project to the members in an effort to give a big push to Prime Minister Narendra Modi�s �Digital India� initiative.

As soon as the House assembled for the opening day�s business, the Speaker informed the members about the launch of the digital platform, stating that �it�s an attempt to start the e-Vidhan project to conduct of House proceedings more efficiently.�

With this, the State Assembly goes paperless, the Speaker said and urged the members to get acquainted with the new technology.

�Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly becomes paperless!�, the Speaker said re-tweeting a post of Chief Minister Pema Khandu on the �latest development�. The House also witnessed a stormy discussion on the forthcoming Panchayat election on the topic �No party system for Panchayat election,� initiated by Congress legislator Ninong Ering. After a marathon discussion, Panchayati Raj Minister Bamang Felix categorically said, �The State Government is not in a position now to amend the Arunachal Pradesh Panchayati Raj Act. So, we have decided to go for the Panchayat polls on �as is where is basis�.�

Felix, who also holds the Home portfolio, introduced �The Arunachal Pradesh Properties (Prevention of Damage and Loss) Bill, 2020�, which envisages to provide for the prevention of damage to property and for matters connected therewith.

�At present, there is no State law to provide for punishment and compensation for damage and loss caused to any property by acts of mischief in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.

Therefore, it is urgently felt to enact a law to make legal provisions for punishment and compensation for damage and loss caused to any property by acts of mischief in the State,� reads the �statement of objects and reasons� of the Bill.

The Speaker announced the panel of chairmen for the current session which comprised of members � Balo Raja, Gabriel D Wangsu, Wanglam Sawin and Gum Tayeng.

Next Story