Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

All-party meet held at Karimganj

By Correspondent

BADARPUR, July 18 - A meeting of the Karimganj district administration with all political parties of the district, was held on July 15 at the DC�s conference hall, for correction of voters� lists.

The meeting was presided over by the Karimganj District Election Officer, who is also the Deputy Commissioner of the district, Manoj Kumar Deka. Several officials of the Karimganj district administration appealed to the political parties to give their suggestions and advice, regarding corrections in the voter lists, within August 10 next to the district administration. ADC as well as the Election Officer Ranjit Kumar Laskar, in his address informed that if the total number of voters in any particular polling station is very large or if any polling station is two or three kilometres away from the voter�s residence, then the work regarding transferring of the polling station or setting up of new polling station, will be done now. Lists of polling stations of five LACs of Karimganj district were handed over to the representatives of all political parties, where the total voters is more than 1,000.

Twenty-three polling stations in Ratabari LAC, 36 in Patharkandi LAC, 36 in North Karimganj LAC, 38 in South Karimganj LAC and 30 in Badarpur LAC have more than 1,000 voters. Laskar also informed that voters declared by the tribunals as doubtful, may get their names included by submitting Form Number 8 . He also informed that during the ongoing period of the correction of voter lists, if the photos are found to be not of good quality, then they may be changed. Besides, the full names and addresses of the voters may be corrected, if the need arises.

This meeting was also attended and addressed by the BJP�s Jyoti Prakash Dev and Krishna Das, Congress�s Abul Foyez Choudhuree, Samajwadi Party�s Gopal Chandra Paul, NCP�s PK Roy among several others.

Next Story