Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AFSPA to remain in 12 Arunachal districts

By The Assam Tribune

NEW DELHI, May 7 - AFSPA will continue to remain in force in 12 districts of Arunachal Pradesh for six more months on the ground of continuous violence, extortion and intimidation by insurgent groups.

The Union Home Ministry has said the security scenario in Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts along with areas falling under 16 police stations in nine other districts of the State remains vitiated due to the spill over of Naga insurgency.

Naga groups � NSCN-K, NSCN-IM, NSCN-R and NSCN-NK � along with ULFA-I and NDFB-S, continue to indulge in extortion, area domination, inter-factional rivalry in these areas of the State.

Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of 16 police stations in nine districts bordering Assam are declared as �disturbed area� under section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act 1958 for six months beyond May 4, 2016, a Gazette notification issued by the Home Ministry said.

There have been 24 insurgency-related incidents perpetrated by Naga groups in the last six months in which three people have been killed and 24 militants arrested.

On March 27, 2015, the Centre had declared all districts of Arunachal Pradesh bordering Assam as �disturbed areas� under AFSPA. However, the order was withdrawn following strong protests from the Nabam Tuki Government.

A revised notification was issued a few days later declaring Tirap, Changlang and Longding, along with 16 police station areas in nine districts as �disturbed�.

The State shares a 1,126 kms of the border with China and 520 kms with Myanmar. � PTI

Next Story