Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AASU fetes meritorious students at Doomdooma


DOOMDOOMA, June 3 - The Doomdooma unit of AASU felicitated 109 meritorious students of Doomdooma area who passed the Class-X and Class-XII Board examinations with more than 80% marks at a function organised at Kallol, the auditorium of Doomdooma College.

These students passed from the institutions affiliated to SEBA, AHSEC, CBSE and ICSE.

The special programme was chaired by the president of Doomdooma Press Club Arjun Baruah. Addressing the gathering, the Principal of Doomdooma College Dr Prakash Jyoti Borthakur, Lieutenant Colonel Jitendra Kumar of Punjab Regiment, retired teacher Mrigen Saikia, founder secretary of Doomdooma unit of AASU Jatin Saikia, former organising secretary of AASU Dipankar Sonowal and Tinsukia district unit of AASU secretary Samar Jyoti Gohain gave a few words of advice to the students.

Earlier, the adviser of Doomdooma unit of AASU Rana Sonar explained the objectives of the programme which was also attended by the ex-president of Tinsukia District Journalists� Association Anuj Kalita, Doomdooma Press Club secretary Manoj Dutta, professors of Doomdooma College Birendra Hazarika and Deepak Ranjan Baruah, Doomdooma Sakha Sahitya Sabha secretary Deben Deka, Tinsukia district unit of AASU assistant secretary Puheswar Sonowal and journalists Abhijit Khataniar, Rantu Neog, Nowantik Urang and Surajit Chowdhury as guests of honour. The students were felicitated with a phulam gamusa, japi and a citation each.

From among the parents of the meritorious students, Meena Sonar spoke a few words and thanked the AASU activists for organising such a programme. The programme was anchored by Doomdooma unit AASU president Uttam Baruah and secretary Pratim Neog.

Next Story