Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

80 candidates file nominations in Cachar

By The Assam Tribune

Silchar, March 13: A total of 80 candidates representing different political parties and independent ventures from the seven constituencies of Cachar district have filed nominations as the nomination filing process for the second phase of Assembly elections came to a close on Friday.

Among the candidates who filed their nomination papers include two-time-legislator from Silchar and former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul who is contesting as an independent candidate, Anamul Haque Laskar who was OSD to former Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi is contesting as an independent candidate from Sonai constituency, AIUDF candidate Karim Uddin Barbhuiya, Ram Ratan Dusad from Assam Jatiya Parishad will contest in Dholai constituency.

Earlier on Thursday, Congress candidate from Silchar Tamal Kanti Banik shared his vision of transforming the second biggest urban sprawl into a municipal corporation, solving the vexed issue of drainage as his foremost priorities when voted to power. BJP’s Dipayan Chakraborty, on the other hand maintained that people will value the widespread developmental works done by the BJP-led Government in the past five years and give them another opportunity to continue the development spree. Former Minister and veteran politician Misbahul Islam Laskar also filed his nomination as a Congress candidate from Borkhola constituency. While another former minister Gautam Roy will be seen contesting from Katigorah as a BJP candidate.

Next Story