Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

7 candidates file papers in Baksa

By Correspondent

JALAH, March 23 � A total of seven candidates today filed nomination papers in Baksa district for the ensuing BTC election scheduled for April 8 next.

The candidates included two sitting BTC members from the BPF � Deben Boro from Tamulpur and Ganesh Kachari from Suklai Serfang.

Sitting BTC member Bijit Gwra Narzary, also from the BPF, filed his papers from the Darangajuli constituency while Pabitra Boro filed his nomination from Goreswar on BPF ticket.

Among the independent candidates who submitted their nomination papers today were Ashok Lakari from Goybari, Thankeswar Deka from Suklai Serfang, Maheswar Basumatary from Goreswar, Chakradar Das from Salbari and Makhan Swargoyary from the Mathunguri constituency.

With just two days remaining for the last date of submission of nomination papers � i.e. till 3 pm of March 25 � many candidates are expected to file their nomination papers tomorrow.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done on March 26. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 28 and on the same day the final list of contestants will be published.

The date for repolling is fixed on April 10 while counting of votes will take place on April 11.

Next Story