Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

4,84,125 voters to elect candidates in BTC polls


UDALGURI, March 29 � A total of 4,84,125 voters of Udalguri district are now ready for the April 9 BTC elections where they will elect ten members using their conscience for the betterment of their region. According to sources from the election department, a total of 50 candidates are now in the fray for the forthcoming second BTC elections from ten constituencies of Udalguri district.

The constituency wise list of contesting candidates from various political parties and Independents are as follows: 31 Khoirabari (ST)- Lwmshraw Daimary, BPF, Dwithun Swargiary, BPPF, Kanak Boro, AGP, Kanta Boro Congress and Nanda Boro-UDPF. From 32 Bhergaon (ST), there are only three candidates in the fray. They are Ratiram Boro of BPF, Udang Khungur Boro of Congress and Rabiram Boro of UDPF. There are six candidates in 33 Nonoi Serfang (non ST). They are Radhakanta Kurmi of BPF, Lalita Das of BJP, Santius Kuzur of Congress, Baldev Baraik of CPI(M), Prabir Das-Independent and Niranjan Chauhan-Independent. In the other hand, 34 Khalingduar (ST) has five candidates in the fray.

They are Bonjar Daimary of BPF, Deben Boro of UDPF, Dhaneswar Boro of Congress, Gautam Boro of BPPF and Ranjan Daimari as Independent. The 35 Mudoibari (open) has the highest seven number of candidates who include Jagadish Sarkar of BPF, Keshab Deka of AGP, Madhuram Mochahary of BPPF, Bhabiram Kachari of UDPF, Anil Boro, Tarun Sahariah and Subhash Majumdar as Independents. In 36 Harisinga (ST), Kartick Chandra Boro of BPF will have to face the challenge from Pradip Rabha of Congress, Birendra Daimari of UDPF , Litton Daimari of BPPF and Budaula Daimari, Independent to retain the seat. In 37 Dhansiri (ST), the sitting member Mitharam Basumatary will face the challenge from Gopal Daimari of AGP, Hirimba Singh Brahma of Congress and Boloram Brahma of UDPF while in 38 Bhairabkunda (ST), the sitting member Purno Kanta Daimari, Independent will have to face Robison Daimari of BPF, Bisti Kumar Basumatary of Congress, Prodeep Kr. Daimari of UDPF,Sundar Daimari of BPPF and Birdao Basumatary, Independent. In 39 Panchnoi Serfang (non ST), the sitting member ShyamChundi of BPF will face tough challenge from Jitu Kishan of Congress, Dillu Saramh of BPPF and Naba Gopal Goswami of UDPF while in 40 Rowta (ST), the sitting member Alindra Mochahary will face his arch rival Rabindra Basumatary of BPPF, Maniram Daimary of Congress, Haren Baglary of UDPF and Gajen Hainary as Independent.

Meanwhile, all the candidates have started their high voltage campaign with a �must win� attitude with a bundle of poll promises in the form of party manifesto as well as personal manifesto to woo the voters.

Next Story