Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

37 file papers for 6 seats in Barpeta dist

By Correspondent

BARPETA, March 23 - Altogether 37 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the six Assembly constituencies in Barpeta Election District, the process of which ended this afternoon.

In 40-Sarbhog constituency, six candidates have submitted nominations including the incumbent Ranjit Kumar Das as a BJP nominee. Ruling Congress has nominated Anurupa Hannan from this seat. Five including the present MLA Rafiqul Islam as AIUDF and ex-MLA Abdul Khalek as Congress nominee have filed papers for 44-Jania Assembly segment.

Meanwhile, eight candidates in Sarukshetri and six in Baghbar including the incumbent Sherman Ali as the Congress nominee have filed their nomination papers. AGP nominee Chittaranjan Barman, Independent candidate Dr Tara Prasad Das, present MLA and AIUDF nominee Ali Hussain and Congress nominee Jakir Hussain Sikdar are the prominent candidates from Sarukshetri constituency.

State cabinet minister Sukur Ali Ahmed and four others have submitted nominations for Chenga constituency while seven including present MLA Abdur Rahim Khan as AIUDF nominee and ex-MLA Gunindra Nath Das as AGP nominee have filed papers for Barpeta constituency.

Next Story