Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

3 file nominations for Dibrugarh LS poll

By Staff Correspondent

DIBRUGARH, March 20 � The BJP candidate for the Dibrugarh parliamentary constituency, Rameswar Teli, today filed his nomination papers for the April 7 polls.

Accompanied by local BJP leaders, office-bearers of Dibrugarh and Tinsukia districts and hundreds of party workers, Teli marched through the Mancotta Road in a procession to file his papers at the Deputy Commissioner�s office.

Talking to reporters while marching ahead, Teli exuded confidence saying he will be able to defeat Paban Singh Ghatowar and end the Congress leader�s 25-year stint as MP.

Teli, a former BJP MLA from the Duliajan constituency, is one of the popular leaders from the tea garden community who has been elected to the State Legislative Assembly twice from Duliajan.

Cheniram Moran, a candidate from the All India Forward Block (AIFB) and Ram Narayan Yadav, a candidate from Shiv Sena, also filed their nomination papers for the Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat. The emergence of the AIFB and Shiv Sena candidates caught the local media completely unawares.

Next Story