Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

28 more file nominations for 4 LACs in Darrang

By Correspondent

MANGALDAI, March 23 - Till the filing of this report this evening, 28 more candidates filed their nominations for four Assembly constituencies under Darrang election district.

According to Rahul Chandra Das, Election Officer, Mangaldai, maximum of 11 nomination papers have been filed in 65-Kalaigaon Assembly constituency followed by seven in SC reserved 67-Mangaldai. An equal number of five nomination papers were filed today for each of 66-Sipajhar and 68-Dalgaon LACs.

The prominent candidates who filed nominations today included Congress candidate and Water Resource and Fishery minister Basanta Das for Mangaldai; former MLA Hiren Kumar Das as AIUDF candidate in Mangaldai; Parliamentary Secretary Ilias Ali as Congress candidate in Dalgaon; MLA and AGP candidate Mukunda Ram Choudhury in Kalaigaon and former minister and Congress candidate in Sipajhar Dr Zoiinath Sharma.

Hence the total number of nominations filed in each of the four Assembly segments is as follows: � 65-Kaliagon � (15); 66-Sipajhar � (11), SC reserved 67-Mangaldai � (9) and 68-Dalgaon � (8). However, there may be some changes in the final record as the process of filing of nominations continued till the filing of this report.

Next Story