Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

21 collect nomination papers for BTC polls in Kokrajhar

By Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR, March 13 - Not a single candidate filed his papers on the second day of nomination filing process for the BTC Elections-2020 today. However, 21 candidates and their representatives contesting from the 7-Fakiragram (Non-ST), 9-Banargaon (ST), 10-Debargaon (ST), 11 Baukhungri (ST) and 12-Salakati (ST) Bodoland Territorial Council constituencies (BTCC) have collected nomination forms till date.

It may be mentioned here that 11 nomination forms were issued for 7-Fakiragram (Non-ST) constituency, 3 nomination forms were issued for 9-Banargaon (ST) constituency, 2 forms for 10-Debargaon constituency, 3 forms were issued for 12-Salakati constituency and 2 forms were issued for 11-Baukhungri constituency.

As per schedule of the BTC election, the last date for filing of nomination paper is March 18. The Returning Officer and Assistant Returning Officers will check the nomination forms submitted by candidates on March 19.

On March 21, candidates will have a chance to withdraw their candidatures. After that, the final list of contesting candidates will be published on March 21. The polling and counting will be held on April 4 and April 8 respectively.

The total number of voters of 7-Fakiragram (Non-ST) BTCC is 69956 with 36225 males and 33731 females; 9-Banargaon (ST) BTCC is 52770 with 25964 males and 26806 females; 10-Debargaon (ST) is 62275 with 30687 males and 31588 females, 11-Baukhungri (ST) is 46415 with 22952 males and 23463 females and 12-Salakati (ST) BTCC is 50760 with 25305 males, 25453 females and 2 third gender. They will cast their votes at 379 polling stations of these five constituencies.

Meanwhile, District Returning Officer, Kokrajhar Partha P Majumdar has constituted five nomination cells for smooth conduct of the election works for the five BTC segments of Kokrajhar Sadar Subdivision.

As per directives issued by the RO Nayanjyoti Pathak, Assistant Returning Officer (ARO) will look after 7-Fakiragram (Non-ST) constituency, Ranjumani Dutta (ARO) will look after 9-Banargaon (ST) constituency, Ashim Borgohain, (ARO) will look after 10-Debargaon constituency, Dr Sailen Dutta Das (ARO) will look after 11-Baukhungri constituency and Dipen Barman (ARO) will look after 12-Salakati constituency.

Next Story