Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

2 senior journalists awarded

By Correspondent

NORTH GUWAHATI, Jan 2 - Two senior journalists of the State � Bhairab Sarmah, the North Guwahati correspondent of The Assam Tribune and Baharul Islam from Kachua area of Nagaon district, were recently awarded the Indra Gramya Award by the Goalpara district committee of the �Assam Sambadik Karma Parishad� for the years 2013 and 2014 respectively.

Handing over the awards to the two veteran journalists of the State at a function held at the meeting hall of the Yuba Bikash Kendra, Amingaon, the Deputy Commissioner of Kamrup (Rural) district, Vinod Seshan, praised them for their untiring efforts to establish truth and justice in the society.

The meeting chaired by Syed Rabiul Haque of the Goalpara district committee of the Assam Sambadik Karma Parishad, was addressed by journalists Prakash Mahanta, Nava Thakuria, Naren Goswami, Sanjib Kumar Phukon, Paresh Baishya etc., who narrated how a few dedicated scribes had to sacrifice their lives for not compromising with their principles.

Bhairab Sarmah in his address, said as to how he was motivated to do something for the society by joining the Assam Tribune Group, way back in 1959, when the founder editor of The Assam Tribune, Lakshminath Phukan, offered him the appointment. Later, he served in other dailies too, both Assamese and English dailies published from the city. The other recipient, Baharul Islam also narrated how he was inspired to do something as a journalist for the society.

The award, given away since 2008, consists of a phulam gamosa, citation, a bronze trophy and a cash of Rs 10,000.

Next Story