Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

15 file nominations in Darrang dist

By Correspondent

MANGALDAI, March 21 - With only a day left for filing nominations, a total of 15 candidates today filed their nominations for 4 Assembly constituencies under Darrang election district.

According to Rahul Chandra Das, Election Officer, Mangaldai, 65-Kalaigaon and 66-Sipajhar constituencies recorded a maximum of five nominations each while SC reserved 67-Mangaldai recorded nomination of two. On the other hand, three candidates filed nominations for 68-Dalgaon LAC.

The candidates who filed nominations today included former legislator Maheswar Boro of BPF in Kalaigaon; Binanda Kumar Saikia of BJP in Sipajhar; Gurujyoti Das of BJP in Mangaldai and Mojibur Rahman of AIUDF in Dalgaon, among others. Earlier, several thousand supporters of all the political parties escorted their leaders through the streets of the town to the Deputy Commissioner�s office amidst tremendous fanfare and enthusiasm.

Next Story