Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

10 EMs return to Cong fold from BJP

By Correspondent

HAFLONG, Jan 8 - The return of as many as 10 BJP Executive Members of NC Hills Autonomous Council (NCHAC) to the Congress fold last night, reportedly in Kolkata, has brought the Congress back to power in the Council, the Congress leadership at Haflong claimed.

It way be mentioned here that as many as 18 Congress Executive Members and MACs had joined the BJP, which then took over the NC Hills Autonomous Council with Niranjan Hojai as its Chief Executive Member. The return of the 10 Executive Members to the Congress fold has reduced BJP to a minority in the house, with just six members.

Dima Hasao DCC(I) president Mahendra Kemprai, who is now camping in Guwahati and monitoring the situation, confirmed the recent political development and claimed to have as many as 22 members in the Council now. Though he was hesitant to disclose the future course of action, he hinted that the party would claim majority in the Council at the earliest to the Governor and would proceed as per democratic means.

Dima Hasao BJP unit president BB Hagjer told media-persons that he would like to wait for the return of the Executive Members from Kolkata, since everything happened in Kolkata.

Those who have returned to the Congress include: Fleming Rupsy Shylla, Mihir Garlosa, L Hlima Keivom, Athong Lienthang, Khawvelthang Hmar, Suangthangjen Hrangkhol, Hailamkambe Kuame, Laljoshua Baite, Paudaming Nriame and Denis Teron.

Next Story