Aizawl, Feb 18: Riding on a strong incumbency wave, Mizo National Front has won elections to the 19-seat Aizawl Municipal Corporation by bagging 11 seats.

The State Election Commission today declared results of the hotly contested elections held on February 16 in which the incumbent MNF won majority, exceeding the required number, 10, by one seat.

MNF won the exact number of seats it had won in the 2015 elections.

A newly floated party Zoram People’s Movement emerged second by securing six seats.

This was the first time that ZPM, founded in 2018, contested Aizawl civic polls. The party led by former Lok Sabha member Lalduhoma, won five of the six seats reserved for women, and one general seat. Its star candidate Baryl Vanneihsangi Tlau, a popular TV host, won Ward No 19, defeating her main contender Irene Lalruatkimi, a professor from Mizoram University.

Poll debacles of the Grand Old Party Congress continued as it ended up second runner-up by bagging just two seats. The Congress party and its alliance Mizoram People’s Conference, now disbanded, had won eight seats in 2015 elections.

The BJP which contested nine seats drew blank by failing to win a single seat.

MNF won 51,190 votes, which is 37.91 percent of total votes polled, while ZPM bagged 44,683, which accounts for 33.09 percent of votes polled. The Congress party managed to bagged 38,359 votes, which is 28.41 percent of votes polled. The BJP won a total of 780 votes, which is 0.57 percent of votes polled.