SILCHAR, Jan 24: Karimganj Press Club Strikers clinched the 9th Barak Uppotyokya Krira Sangbadik Sanstha (BUKSS) Jookto media cricket fest 2021 trophy beating Hailakandi Media Challengers by 19 runs in a high scoring final match played at the SM Dev stadium on Sunday.

Electing to bat, Karimganj team posted 193 runs in stipulated 20 overs fueled by a blistering knock of 93 runs from opener Rahul Das who was supported well by HK Jashim with his 42 runs. In reply, Hailakandi Media Challengers were restricted to 174 for seven wickets mainly due to HK Jashim’s fine spell of spin bowling as he picked up three crucial wickets giving away only 25 runs. Abhijit Paul also got two wickets.

The Karimganj team received the winners trophy from Subimal Bhattacharjee, director of Jookto NGO, Joyeeta Bhattacharjee, also a director of the NGO, Cachar SP BL Meena, BUKSS central committee president Anirban Jyoti Gupta, secretary Dwijendralal Das, advisor to the scribes’ body Habibur Rahman Choudhury along with Assam cricketer Rahul Singh while DSA Silchar president Babul Hore, Karimganj DSA president Amalesh Choudhury along with Assam speedster Pritam Das gave away the runners-up trophy to Hailakandi team.

Anirban Roy Choudhury was adjudged the player of the tournament while Rahul Das was the man of the final.