Tezpur, March 26: A tensed situation still prevails in Batachipur-Lawdangi area under Dhekiajuli LAC in Sonitpur District following a pre-poll violence among the BPF-Congress supporters and the local ABSU workers last evening .

According to information available, MCLA of Dhansiri seat in BTR area, surrendered NDFB Fwilao Basumatary with some of the supporters of BPF and Dhekiajuli Congress candidate Benudhar Nath were busy in distributing money among the voters in Lawdangi area a remote area along the Assam-Arunachal Border.

However, as it was noticed, the local ABSU workers requested Fwilao and team not to lure the common and the ignorant people in such a way, rather they should be allowed to go and exercise their franchise according to their own choice; for it, the BPF MCLA and his supporters attacked the ABSU workers brutally.

In the attack, three ABSU workers identified as Maheswar Basumatary, Office Secretary, Janak Ramchiary, Asstt. Education Secretary, and Prasenjit Basumatary, Public Relation Secretary of North Dhekiajuli ABSU sustained serious injuries. They were rushed to the Dhekiajuli Civil Hospital.

A case has been registered in Dhekaijuli PS and investigation is on.

Enosh Mochahari, General Secretary, Sonitpur ABSU vehemently condemning the incident urged the police administration to nab the culprits involved in the incident without any delay and ensure security in the area so that common voters can go for polls on March 27 without any fear.

“Free and fair polling is our first priority in our area, we can never allow anybody to exercise unfair means to woo the voters and are hopeful that police will take necessary measure in this regard.” Enosh said.