Staff Correspondent

JORHAT, Feb 20: AASU-backed candidates have won all the posts of the students’ union of the Chandra Kamal Bezbaruah Commerce College, Jorhat.

AASU Jorhat district unit president Bijoy Shankar Bordoloi said that in the CKB Commerce College students’ union elections held on Friday, it was for the 18 consecutive times that AASU-backed candidates had won all the 11 posts of the union. He stated that the AASU-supported candidates won by a huge margin of votes.

Bordoloi said that he along with a group of the students’ body members that included Jorhat district unit AASU vice-president, assistant secretary and sports secretary Arjunmoni Bhuyan, Pachanand Duarah and Partha Pratim Bora, respectively, and general secretary of Jorhat regional unit AASU Oinitam Dutta went to the college on Friday and congratulated the victorious candidates with gamosas.

He said that the jubilant AASU members shouted slogans in praise of the students’ body and the college. The AASU leaders urged the victorious candidates to work for the interest of the students’ community, Bordoloi stated.